Writing Workshops

Creative Writing workshops with a focus on folklore and ritual through the lens of technique.

I bring decades of experience teaching writing to my online workshops. I've taught at the University of California and Colleges in the US, delivered community writing workshops as well as master classes for the Taibhsear Collective.

Other workshops will be offered in 2024. Check this space, or join my email list to be the first to know. Paid subscribers receive 20% off workshops.

A black and white photo of a woman in a forest leaning against a tree. She is dressed in a parka and is looking at something off to her right. She is Allyson Shaw

I bring decades of experience teaching writing to my online workshops. I've taught at the University of California and colleges in the US, delivered community writing workshops as well as master classes for the Taibhsear Collective.

Past Workshops:

Writing as Ritual

We'll explore ways to carve out time and space to write as well as reconnecting with our own vision and purpose. I'll share practical tips for forming or renewing a regular writing practice. Together we'll examine our processes, sharing discoveries and challenges as a group as well as our hopes and plans for our writing.

Arcane Memoir

A workshop exploring the story of Tarot as a prompt and informant to our writing process and our personal narrative.

Second Sight

A hands-on, how-to workshop rewriting drafts. Revision is a way of seeing and it is the secret to powerful writing. In this workshop we will look at techniques for re-visioning-- getting a second look at your first drafts and developing all your raw wildings into powerful writing that embodies all your intentions. Date and Time TBA

Ghost missives

In this two hour workshop we will look at point of view and persona in new nature writing. We will shift persona and point of view in our writing and find new ways to speak for and with the land. Date and Time TBA


I got so much from the workshops. The whole thing about recognising your rhythms completely revolutionised my practice! I'm on fire!

Claire Gorman